Debe Bloom on The Ying and Yang of Life

5 01 2012

January is an emotionally hard month for me.  It is the month that I acknowledge the passing of my dad.  Harder, it is the month that I hold with pain in my heart for the loss of my twin sister.

A friend of mine is off to downtown today.  She is going to spend it with her sister.  This is bittersweet for me.  Obviously, I’m wishing I was able to spend time with my sister…and I’m thrilled that she’s able to share time with hers.

I took my husband to the airport shuttle this morning.  He’s gone for two weeks (again). I treasure my time alone; my own space.

A friend of mine (who I’ve dealt with online thru an organization for those who have lost their twin siblings) told his friends that he had to make the painful decision to ‘pull the plug’: his wife suffered an aneurism just 8 days ago and went into a permanent coma.

I am incredibly proud of my daughter who has made her own life in a vibrant city….hours away from me.

I learned from social media that my own daughter was in the emergency room a couple of nights ago—seriously? On Facebook?  I guess she’s all grown up now.

There is, without question, ups and downs in our lives; good and bad. I told my friend who had to make that painful decision that I was in awe of him. It’s the truth; I am.  It takes strength and courage to take that action.  His loss is overwhelming, yet it’s so fresh, he hasn’t felt the depth of if yet.  I am still in awe.

There is only one lesson in this writing: be appreciative and enjoy life, no matter what path it leads you on.  Make each day count. Know that there is a Ying for each Yang.  This brings to mind that great quote of William Purkey’s:

Dance like no one is watching

Sing like no one is listening

Love like you’ve never been hurt

Live   like heaven is on earth


Actions

Information

4 responses

5 01 2012
Daniel Richman

Great post Debe! So easy to forget that remembering the good things, isn’t bad at all. I feel the same about my brother, who left his body after suffering a seizure from a drug overdose. Many years have passed, and I still catch myself going back to the good times, The “ying-yang” of life is quite extreme, but so wonderful in it’s times of need.

6 01 2012
Debe Bloom

So well put, Daniel. And here’s something to put in your emotional ‘toolbox: To lose someone is to not remember them. When it’s all said and done, we leave behind only our memories…

5 01 2012
Laurie Hurley

I guess this is life, huh? Full of painful decisions, bittersweet moments, joyful days and nights, too. I think if we didn’t experience the ups and downs our lives would be boring. Fortunately, I have not lost a family member yet, but when I do, I know it will be difficult and I will yearn for the ‘good times’. I guess that is what the message of the Lion King is – it’s a circle of life.

6 01 2012
Debe Bloom

The Circle of Life is something I refer to often, Laurie. There are only a couple of things that we are certain of: taxes, fear of snakes and death—and the first too are pretty ‘iffy’. But I totally agree: if we don’t taste a bit of the bitter, we would never know how truly sweet the sweet is….and bitter ‘n sweet do happen. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a comment