My Likes from the desk of Debe Bloom

9 01 2012

Coaching allows me to dig down deep and offer up some unique ideas to help my clients move forward in their Life and in their Business.  It allows my own creativity to sneak up and become a unique tool in my ‘toolbox’.

One of my favorite questions to ask a client is ‘what do you like to do?…what defines who you are?” I thought I would take this moment to share my list, so you can get to know me a tad bit better:

I like tending to my dog. Julee was re-homed to us when she was a year old. We are her fifth home and when I heard that she was going into her 5th home, I took her sight unseen. Yes, I know…it could have been a huge chore. But I was willing to take her even if she was missing her back legs. No dog deserves to be re-homed so many times.  The Peke stopped with me…and what an amazing friend she has been for the past 7 years.  I like bathing her (despite her whimpering throughout the entire process); I like feeding her; I like brushing her and believe it or not, I like picking up after her (shows I’m responsible).

I like taking my Nikon camera for walks with me on the beach.  I cannot get enough of the wonder of the ocean; how the force of the water can change the lay of the sand; how the sun glistens off the waves.  I like taking photos of collections: I have collections of the seasons; of benches from my travels; of colorful artsy personal landmarks.

I like getting creative with marketing.  I like brainstorming and coming up with eye-appealing slogans and unique logos (although I can’t draw a straight line).

I like taking on huge home projects…simple picture framing does nothing for me, but give me a house to remodel in a short period of time and I’m one happy camper.

I like moving, believe it or not.  That’s a huge ordeal for most, but I find it an excellent challenge and I like it.  Besides, it’s the perfect opportunity to pare down unneeded items!

I like watching children try to figure things out for themselves as they learn.  It’s so refreshing to see sweetness grow.

I like vintage cars.  Not the ones that have been altered, but the ones that the owners have taken the time and care to maintain them in their stock,  original status.  But, not the horseless carriage cars; more like 1950-80 and mostly foreign ones (foreign to the US that is).

I like putting a plant in the ground and then later reaping the benefits from it…be it a vegetable or a fruit.  Gardening sings to me as much as the rhythm of the ocean waves.

Those are just some of my likes.  My loves are a whole different list.   Do you have a list of likes? Have you shared your list with others?


Actions

Information

5 responses

9 01 2012
Daniel Richman

I have a fairly big list of “likes” that can be found strewn all over my Facebook page. The biggest of which would be music (listening and playing alike), exercise (any kind, anywhere), my business (love making new things happen, and helping new people)…and last but definitely not least, my family. These are the things that keep me busy. Great post, Debe!

11 01 2012
Debe Bloom

Your life seems to be well-balanced, Daniel. And balance is, indeed, the key. Thanks for sharing a bit of who you are!

10 01 2012
Laurie Hurley

talk about authenticity! What a great way for your followers to get to know you! Here is my list- I like writing, Iove to exercise – running and lifting weights are my preferences. I enjoy a good book every night before bed. I love to shop, not necessarily spend money, but look and get ideas. I also adore decorating my house, lots of fun. Finally, I love to dance.

11 01 2012
Debe Bloom

Lifting weights? I had no idea! And dancing…who knew? Thanks for your comment, Laurie, and letting a bit more of you known!

11 01 2012
Debe Bloom

Lifting weights? I had no idea!! And dancing?–who knew?? Thanks for sharing your comments and letting a bit more of you known, Laurie. It’s always refreshing to really get to know someone…

Leave a comment